Please note that the original language version of this page German has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.
Swipe to change

About the network

Content provided by:
European Judicial Network
European Judicial Network (in civil and commercial matters)
There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

Austria has set up in Department I 9 of the Federal Ministry of Constitutional Affairs, Reforms, Deregulation and Justice (Bundesministerium für Verfassung, Reformen, Deregulierung und Justiz), a central contact point which deals with legal queries from foreign contact points made via the network, performs various coordination- and organisation-related tasks and organises and edits the Austrian entries for the network factsheets that are published on the European Justice Portal.

In addition, two judges have been nominated as contact points for each of the four Higher Regional Court (Oberlandesgericht) jurisdictions (three for the Vienna jurisdiction). They provide assistance and support to foreign contact points and the Austrian courts in individual cases involving cross-border judicial cooperation (such as when there are difficulties in the cross-border taking of evidence or service of documents). In such instances, foreign contact points should therefore contact the relevant local judicial contact point and not the central contact point at the Federal Ministry of Constitutional Affairs, Reforms, Deregulation and Justice. The jurisdiction of the Vienna Higher Regional Court includes the provinces of Vienna, Lower Austria and Burgenland, that of the Linz Higher Regional Court includes the provinces of Upper Austria and Salzburg, that of the Innsbruck Higher Regional Court includes the provinces of Tyrol and Vorarlberg and the Graz Higher Regional Court is responsible for the provinces of Styria and Carinthia.

The names and contact details of the Austrian EJN contact points can be accessed via the following link:

Private individuals/parties to proceedings or their legal representatives may not contact the network contact points directly. However, they can ask the judge leading the proceedings to refer them to a contact point.

The Austrian Bar Association (Österreichische Rechtsanwaltskammertag) and the Austrian Chamber of Notaries (Österreichische Notariatskammer) have been part of the EJN since 1 January 2011; however, under the EJN Decision of 28 May 2001 (2001/470/EC), as amended by Decision 568/2009/EC of 18 June 2009, they do not have the competence to deal with individual cases.

Österreichischer Rechtsanwaltskammertag
1010 Wien, Tuchlauben 12
Tel.: +43/1/535-1275, Fax: +43/1/535-1275-13
Languages: German and English

Österreichische Notariatskammer
1010 Wien, Landesgerichtsstraße 20
Tel.: +43/1/4024-5090, Fax: +43/1/406-3475
Languages: German, French and English

Last update: 22/11/2019

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective EJN contact point. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. Neither the EJN nor the European Commission accept responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.