European Certificate of Succession

National information and online form concerning Regulation No. 650/2012 that makes it easier for citizens to handle the legal aspects of an international succession

Regulation 650/2012 of 4 July 2012, applying from 17 August 2015, makes it easier for citizens to handle the legal aspects of an international succession by ensuring that a cross-border succession is treated coherently, under a single law and by one single authority.

The Regulation applies between all Member States except Denmark and Ireland.

The Regulation also introduces a European Certificate of Succession (ECS). The ECS is issued by the authority dealing with the succession, and can be used by heirs, legatees, executors of wills and administrators of the estate to prove their status and exercise their rights or powers in other Member States. Once issued, the ECS will be recognized in all Member States without any special procedure being required.

For additional information, please go to our page on successions, or consult our citizen’s guide on cross-border successions.

While it is strongly recommended to complete the ECS form online, the possibility of downloading the Word Word (159 Kb) en version of ECS form exists. However, be advised that the content of the form fully corresponds to the annexes of the Regulation, and that the text provided in them should not be altered. Altering the provided text could impact form’s validity.

Submission of forms to competent authority

Completed forms should be sent to the relevant competent authority in a manner required by the authority. More information on the contact details for competent authorities, relevant national legislature etc. can be found in the European Judicial Atlas section. This page contains dedicated national factsheets, some of which provide information on the competent authorities to which to send completed forms.

You can complete these forms online by clicking one of the links below. If you have already started a form and saved a draft, you can upload it using the "Load draft" button.

As of 1 January 2021, the United Kingdom is no longer an EU Member State. However, in the field of civil justice, pending procedures and proceedings initiated before the end of the transition period will continue under EU law. Until the end of 2024, the United Kingdom can continue to be selected in online (dynamic) forms for the purpose of these proceedings and procedures. An exception to this rule are the Public documents forms, in which the UK should not be selected.

Please note that if you exceed 30 minutes of inactivity, all of your input will be lost unless you save a draft!

  • Form V - European certificate of succession
    • in English

If you already have a form saved, please use the "Load draft" button.

If you already have a form saved, please use the "Load draft" button.

This page is maintained by the European Commission. The information on this page does not necessarily reflect the official position of the European Commission. The Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice with regard to copyright rules for European pages.

Last update : 25/04/2022