National information concerning Directive 2008/52/EC

General information

Directive 2008/52/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 21 May 2008 on certain aspects of mediation in civil and commercial matters seeks to facilitate access to alternative dispute resolution and to promote the amicable settlement of disputes by encouraging the use of mediation and by ensuring a balanced relationship between mediation and judicial proceedings.

The competent authorities according to article 6 (3) of the Directive are the authorities competent to receive requests asking that the content of a written agreement resulting from mediation is made enforceable.

The Directive applies between all Member States of the European Union with the exception of Denmark.

The European e-Justice Portal provides you with information concerning the application of the Directive.

Please select the relevant country's flag to obtain detailed national information.

Related link

ARCHIVED European Judicial ATLAS website (closed on 30 September 2017)


The search tool below will help you to identify court(s)/authority(ies) competent for a specific European legal instrument. Please note that although every effort has been made to ascertain the accuracy of the results, there may be some exceptional cases concerning the determination of competence that are not necessarily covered.


*mandatory input
Last update: 17/11/2021

This page is maintained by the European Commission. The information on this page does not necessarily reflect the official position of the European Commission. The Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice with regard to copyright rules for European pages.