National justice systems


This section provides you with an overview of the courts in Lithuania.

Content provided by:

Organisation of justice. Judicial system

In Lithuania there are 22 ordinary courts and 3 specialised (administrative) courts.

Administration of the courts

The General Meeting of Judges (Visuotinis teisėjų susirinkimas) is the highest body of judicial autonomy, involving all judges in Lithuania.

The Lithuanian Council of Courts (Teisėjų taryba) is an executive body of judicial autonomy, composed of 23 members, which ensures the independence of the courts and judges.

The Judicial Court of Honour (Teisėjų garbės teismas) is an institution of judicial autonomy, which hears disciplinary cases against judges and judges’ petitions against defamation.

The National Courts Administration (Nacionalinės teismų administracija) seeks to ensure that the institutions of the judiciary operate effectively and helps to guarantee the independence of the courts and judges and the organisational autonomy of the courts.

Last update: 07/04/2023

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.