Please note that the original language version of this page Finnish has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.
Swipe to change

European Case Law Identifier (ECLI)


Finland is currently implementing the European Case Law Identifier in all case law databases of Finlex, the national legal data bank.

Content provided by:
There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

National ECLI coordinator

The national ECLI coordinator is Aki Hietanen, Ministry of Justice, Finland, e-mail:

Country code

The country code for Finland is: [FI]

Generation of national ECLI

Finland is currently implementing the European Case Law Identifier in all case law databases in Finlex, the national legal data bank. The project was started with tests on the use of ECLI in the case law databases of the Finnish Supreme Court and Supreme Administrative Court. Currently also the databases of Courts of Appeal, Administrative Courts and Special Courts are using the ECLI identifier. In 2013, the metadata in the judgments will be enriched with ECLI metadata. The Finlex case law databases are already now using metadata of Dublin Core Metadata Initiative.

The ECLI identifier will also be used in the Finlex database “Case Law in Legal Literature”. The database includes references to case law in Finnish legal literature since 1926. The case law consists of judgments of e.g. the Finnish Supreme Court, Supreme Administrative Court, Courts of Appeal, the European Court of Human Rights and the EC Court of Justice.

The generation of national ECLI

Supreme Court: ECLI:FI:KKO:2011:43

Supreme Administrative Court: ECLI:FI:KHO:2011:85

             - for case summaries (no full text) ECLI:FI:KHO:2010:T3764

Courts of Appeal:

  • Helsinki Court of Appeal ECLI:FI:HELHO:2011:5
  • Eastern Finland (Itä-Suomi) Court of Appeal ECLI:FI:I-SHO:2011:4
  • Kouvola Court of Appeal ECLI:FI:KOUHO:2009:3
  • Rovaniemi Court of Appeal ECLI:FI:RHO:2010:8
  •  Turku Court of Appeal ECLI:FI:THO:2011:2
  •  Vaasa Court of Appeal ECLI:FI:VHO:2011: 7

Administrative Courts:

  • Helsinki Administrative Court ECLI:FI:HELHAO:2011:11.0378.255
  • Hämeenlinna Administrative Court ECLI:FI:HAMHAO:2011:11.0378.255
  • Kouvola Administrative Court ECLI:FI:KOUHAO:2011:11.0379.25
  • Kuopio Administrative Court ECLI:FI:KUOHAO:2011:11.0377.25
  • Oulu Administrative Court ECLI:FI:OULHAO:2011:11.0375.25
  • Rovaniemi Administrative Court ECLI:FI:ROVHAO:2011:11.0373.25
  • Turku Administrative Court ECLI:FI:TURHAO:2011:11.0293.15
  • Vaasa Administrative Court ECLI:FI:VAAHAO:2011:11.0371.25
  • Åland Administrative Court ECLI:FI:AALHAO:2011:11.0372.25

Insurance Court ECLI:FI:VAKO:2010:757

Labour Court ECLI:FI:TTO:2011:108

Market Court ECLI:FI:MAO:2010:595

Related links

Finlex – national legal databank

Last update: 05/11/2020

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.