Visit the BETA version of the European e-Justice Portal and give us feedback of your experience!


menu starting dummy link

Page navigation

menu ending dummy link

About the network - Austria

Austria has set up in Department I 9 of the Federal Ministry of Justice (Bundesministerium für Justiz) a central contact point which deals with legal queries from foreign contact points made via the network, performs various coordination- and organisation-related tasks and organises and edits the Austrian entries for the network factsheets that are published on the European Justice Portal.

In addition, two judges have been nominated as contact points for each of the four Higher Regional Court (Oberlandesgericht) jurisdictions (three for the Vienna jurisdiction). They provide assistance and support to foreign contact points and the Austrian courts in individual cases involving cross-border judicial cooperation (such as when there are difficulties in the cross-border taking of evidence or service of documents). In such instances, foreign contact points should therefore contact the relevant local judicial contact point and not the central contact point at the Federal Ministry of Justice. The jurisdiction of the Vienna Higher Regional Court includes the provinces of Vienna, Lower Austria and Burgenland, that of the Linz Higher Regional Court includes the provinces of Upper Austria and Salzburg, that of the Innsbruck Higher Regional Court includes the provinces of Tyrol and Vorarlberg and the Graz Higher Regional Court is responsible for the provinces of Styria and Carinthia.

The names and contact details of the Austrian EJN contact points in the respective Higher Regional Court jurisdictions can be accessed via the following link:

Private individuals/parties to proceedings or their legal representatives may not contact the network contact points directly. However, they can ask the judge leading the proceedings to refer them to a contact point.

The Austrian Bar Association (Österreichische Rechtsanwaltskammertag) and the Austrian Chamber of Notaries (Österreichische Notariatskammer) have been part of the EJN since 1 January 2011, however under the EJN Decision of 28 May 2001 (2001/470/EC), as amended by Decision 568/2009/EC of 18 June 2009, they do not have the competence to deal with individual cases.

Österreichischer Rechtsanwaltskammertag
1010 Wien, Tuchlauben 12
Tel.: +43/1/535-1275, Fax: +43/1/535-1275-13
E-Mail: Link opens in new
Languages: German and English

Österreichische Notariatskammer
1010 Wien, Landesgerichtsstraße 20
Tel.: +43/1/4024-5090, Fax: +43/1/406-3475
E-Mail: Link opens in new
Languages: German, French and English

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective EJN contact point. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. Neither the EJN nor the European Commission accept responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.

Last update: 01/03/2018