Visit the BETA version of the European e-Justice Portal and give us feedback of your experience!


Navigation path

menu starting dummy link

Page navigation

menu ending dummy link

Judicial systems in Member States - Sweden

Please note that the original language version of this page Swedish has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.

This section provides you with an overview of the court system in Sweden.

Organisation of justice – judicial systems

Types of courts - short description

The judicial system usually refers to the authorities and agencies responsible for the rule of law and legal safety. The courts are the backbone of the judicial system, which also comprises authorities responsible for crime prevention and investigations, including:

Other authorities may have tasks connected with the judicial system, e.g. Link opens in new windowthe Enforcement Service.

Hierarchy of courts

Sweden has two parallel types of courts:

  • Ordinary courts, which deal with criminal and civil cases.
  • General administrative courts, which deal with cases relating to public administration.

The general courts are organised in a three-tier system: district courts, courts of appeal and the Supreme Court.

The administrative courts also have three tiers: administrative courts, administrative courts of appeal and the Supreme Administrative Court. In addition, a few special courts and tribunals have been established to hear specific kinds of cases and matters.

Administration of courts

Link opens in new windowThe Ministry of Justice is responsible for matters involving the courts, including the codes of procedure and organisation of the courts. However, neither the government nor any other agency has the authority to decide how a court rules in individual cases.

Link opens in new windowThe National Courts Administration is the central administrative agency for public courts, public administrative courts, regional tenancy tribunals, regional rent tribunals and the Link opens in new windowNational Legal Aid Authority.

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.

Last update: 06/11/2012