Visit the BETA version of the European e-Justice Portal and give us feedback of your experience!


menu starting dummy link

Page navigation

menu ending dummy link

Ordinary courts - Estonia

Please note that the original language version of this page Estonian has been amended recently. The language version you are now viewing is currently being prepared by our translators.


There is no official translation of the language version you are viewing.
You can access a machine translated version of this content here. Please note that it is only provided for contextual purposes. The owner of this page accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to the quality of this machine translated text.

This section provides information on the organisation of ordinary courts in Estonia.

Ordinary courts – introduction

County Courts are ordinary courts of first instance and hear all civil, criminal and misdemeanour cases and conduct other proceedings which are placed under their jurisdiction by law. Legal proceedings in the county courts are regulated by the following Codes: the Code of Civil Procedure in civil cases, the Code of Criminal Procedure in criminal cases and the Code of Misdemeanour Procedure in misdemeanour cases.

The county courts also have land register and registry departments, which have administrative functions. The land register and the marital property register are maintained in the land registry department. The commercial register, the register of non-profit associations and foundations, the commercial pledges register and the register of ships are maintained in the registry department. Pärnu County Court also has a department for payment orders. The department for payment orders handles applications concerning the accelerated procedure for payment orders.

Judgments and rulings of county courts are reviewed by district courts, as courts of second instance, on the basis of appeals against those judgments and rulings. Proceedings in the administrative courts are regulated by the same Acts as proceedings in the courts of first instance.

Courts of first instance

There are four county courts in Estonia. The county courts are divided into courthouses.

County courts:

Harju County Court (Harju Maakohus):

  1. Liivalaia Street courthouse
  2. Kentmanni Street courthouse
  3. Tartu Road courthouse

Viru County Court (Viru Maakohus):

  1. Jõhvi courthouse
  2. Narva courthouse
  3. Rakvere courthouse

Pärnu County Court (Pärnu Maakohus):

  1. Pärnu courthouse
  2. Haapsalu courthouse
  3. Kuressaare courthouse
  4. Rapla courthouse
  5. Paide courthouse

Tartu County Court (Tartu Maakohus):

  1. Tartu courthouse
  2. Jõgeva courthouse
  3. Viljandi courthouse
  4. Valga courthouse
  5. Võru courthouse

Courts of second instance

There are two district courts in Estonia.

District Courts:

  • Tallinn District Court (Tallinna Ringakonnakohus)
  • Tartu District Court (Tartu Ringakonnakohus)

Legal databases

You can find contact details for the courts on the Link opens in new windowcourts website. Access to the contact details is free of charge.

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.
Member States in charge of the management of national content pages are in the process of updating some of the content on this website in the light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.

Last update: 03/08/2017