Visit the BETA version of the European e-Justice Portal and give us feedback of your experience!


menu starting dummy link

Page navigation

menu ending dummy link

Ordinary courts - Poland

This section provides you with information on the organisation of ordinary courts in Poland.

Ordinary courts

The system of common courts in Poland includes the appellate (sądy apelacyjne), provincial (sądy okręgowe) and district courts (sądy rejonowe). These courts decide, among other things, on cases concerning criminal, civil, family and juvenile law, commercial law, employment and social security laws – except for cases vested in other special courts, such as military courts.

Common courts also maintain land and mortgage registers, as well as the plege register, National Court Register and National Criminal Register.  

Civil courts

There is a civil unit (wydział cywilny) in each appellate, provincial and district court.

Criminal courts

There is a criminal unit (wydział karny) in each appellate, provincial and district court.

Legal databases

The website of the Link opens in new windowPolish government contains a list of published Acts, dating from 1918.

Access to the database is free of charge.

The national language version of this page is maintained by the respective Member State. The translations have been done by the European Commission service. Possible changes introduced in the original by the competent national authority may not be yet reflected in the translations. The European Commission accepts no responsibility or liability whatsoever with regard to any information or data contained or referred to in this document. Please refer to the legal notice to see copyright rules for the Member State responsible for this page.

Last update: 10/12/2012